Home » Uncategorized » Keep Calm and Cuddle On

Keep Calm and Cuddle On

It’s almost 4Am, and I just got finished cleaning Elliot’s room.

I posted a few weeks ago about my cleaning schedule that I try to follow. My schedule is less about keeping the house spotless and much more about just keeping it running smoothly. Making sure the laundry never really piles up and the floors are clean and there’s dinner that night.

I get extremely stressed out when clutter builds in my house. For the life of me I haven’t been able to declutter this ONE CORNER of my kitchen for the past year. It drives me crazy! But here in the past few days since christmas it has been bothering me way more than usual. We brought home all kids of awesome gifts, mostly things for Elliot. The first thing I did was organize it all by room. All the kitchen stuff we got went there, all of Elliot’s things went in his room…

Christmas night I cleaned and washed and put away all the new stuff in our kitchen. Then I got sick for a few days and never touched his room. Yesterday I washed all his new clothes and organized his closet. Tonight I finally went in there and tackled his room. I opened and put on his new mesh crib bumper, I organized the 50 stuffed animals we already own (seriously..Mom..I never realized how crazy those things are. I’m sorry I insisted on owning 500 of them while growing up), I opened all of his new toys and set them up (lets be honest, I also played with most of them for a bit), and I just generally organized the place.

The whole while though, I kept thinking back to a poem that a friend shared with me a few days ago when I was stressing out about my house being a wreck. It resonated with me on a deep level, especially the last stanza, and it helped me to relax about my messy house. Because its true, Children grow up so fast! Elliot is 7 months old in two days, and I feel like he was just born yesterday.

So to Moms and Moms-to-be out there: Keep Calm and Cuddle On. Babies grow up fast and one day your little boy isn’t going to want to snuggle mommy for hours. You can do the house work when that happens. =P

Here is the poem a friend shared with me. I have no idea who it’s by. If you know, please tell me!

Mother, oh Mother, come shake out your cloth,

Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,

Hang out the washing and butter the bread,

Sew on a button and make up a bed.

 

Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?

She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking.

 

Oh, I’ve grown shiftless as Little Boy Blue


(Lullaby, rockaby, lullaby loo).


Dishes are waiting and bills are past due


(Pat-a-cake, darling, and peek, peekaboo).

 

The shopping’s not done and there’s nothing for stew


And out in the yard there’s a hullabaloo


But I’m playing Kanga and this is my Roo.


Look! Aren’t her eyes the most wonderful hue?


(Lullaby, rockaby, lullaby loo).


 

The cleaning and scrubbing will wait till tomorrow,


For children grow up, as I’ve learned to my sorrow.


So quiet down, cobwebs. Dust go to sleep.


I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.


Tell me what you think!

