Home » Uncategorized » Week 16- update

Week 16- update

How Far Along: 16 weeks on thursday

Maternity clothes?: Only. I can’t fit into any of my pre-pregnancy pants anymore. I’m still wearing the same shirts and tops, but my T-shirts are starting to get tight.

Sleep: Terrible. I can’t seem to get any good sleep. I’m sleeping with three pillows right now too.

Best moment of the week: Feeling the little kicks and rolls more frequently.

Food Aversions: Broccoli. I loved it until i got pregnant..now I can’t stand the smell.

Cravings: Chocolate milk, Ice cream, Egg sandwiches.

Symptopms: heartburn! Thats the biggest one. My sense of smell is way stronger than usual, and my dreams are really vivid.

Morning Sickness: Still. ugh. I’m so ready to be done throwing up everyday. But, yes, I’m still throwing up everyday at least once. I’m on a prescription, but it doesn’t seem to help much. I’m trying not to eat very much, and when I do eat, its very slowly. I can tell that it is starting to get better though.

Movement: Definitely feeling LO (little one) a lot lately! On the first, I felt her roll over completely.

Gender: Not yet! I usually refer to it as him or her, but we don’t know for sure yet. We will find out Febrary 10th. (Appt. is the 9th, but we’re going to try to wait until the next evening and do a small gender reveal with Jason’s family)

What I’m looking forward to: Finding out the gender, and starting on the nursery. We’re doing a Dr. Seuss themed nursery. I picked the paint yesterday, and a friend and I are going to paint the room hopefully by the end of the month.

What I miss: Baths. Sleeping on my stomach. Eating whatever I want…

Next appointment: Jan 18th for a general check up and genetic testing. Feb 9th for the Anatomy Scan. =)

I’ve been thinking a lot about the type of mom I want to be. I mean, I pretty much know HOW we’re going to parent as far as discipline and stuff like that because we talk about it a lot. But, I’ve been researching and looking into eco-friendly and cost-friendly ways to parent. I’m going to start making our own detergent, as well as our own baby wipes (MAYBE reusable ones). I’ve learned some tricks to stretch our baby products like baby wash, and I’m pretty confident that we’re going to cloth diaper. (I actually have spent about the past 7 hours reading about and researching CDs). One of the biggest reasons I didn’t want to CD in the first place was the added cost of the water bill…BUT, the water is free in our apartment..so why not? haha. I’m also going to exclusively breastfeed for as long as I can (at LEAST 6 months, maybe more) and after that I will make all the baby’s food myself.

I’m extremely happy and lucky that I’m going to be able to be a SAHM for the first little while at least. A lot of the above mentioned wouldn’t be possible if I had to go to work after LO comes. I’m really really happy, because all I’ve ever wanted to do with my life is be a wife and mother, and at least for a few years, its exactly what I’ll be. I will still finish school, and I plan on working after LO goes to 1st grade, but for the time being, I’m really excited.

I’m also extremely excited that our due date falls in the summer- which means that Jason will be home full time with me for a least 6 weeks after the baby comes. How sweet is that!?

=)

Tell me what you think!

