Home » Uncategorized » I’m pregnant!

I’m pregnant!

Now that it’s out there and everyone knows, I thought I’d start writing a weekly/bi-weekly blog to update everyone on the pregnancy. I’m 8 weeks today (thursday) and so happy to be this far along. I feel like I just found out yesterday, I can’t believe its already been 3 weeks. SO….ready set go!

Stats:

How far along: 8 weeks =)

Maternity clothes: Not really. I’ve transitioned to wearing yoga pants almost constantly though. My jeans fit, but they’re definitely uncomfortable. Ah the perks of being a college student- I can get away with sweats and yoga pants.

Sleep: Terrible. Ugh. I can hardly sleep at night. I love my husband, and I appreciate that he lets me sleep with 3 body pillows and hasn’t complained yet, but I can’t seem to sleep when he’s in the bed with me because he’s a heater! I was definitely not expecting how hot I’ve been (I’m normally freezing) and it makes it hard to get comfortable because I like to sleep under a lot of covers, but I can’t do that now that I’m hot all the time. I’ve also found that I have to have a nap during the day. I’ve been waking up around 8, but then by noon I’m dying for a nap…and when I nap, I’ll nap for HOURS. The past two sundays I have gotten a full night of sleep, then went back to bed and slept for another full 7 or 8 hours.

Best moment of the week: This week has been pretty boring. There aren’t kicks yet obviously, and we haven’t had the first appointment yet. But while we were grocery shopping the other day Jason kind of off handed mentioned the baby, but referred to it as “She”. That was definitely a high light (see the gender section)

Food cravings: I’m not sure that I’ve been having actual cravings. I’ve not had any “oh my gosh I need this right now” moments, but I have definitely had a few moments where I’ve really wanted something. Salsa was the first thing I’ve really wanted. I’ve also been eating a lot of pickles (cliche right?).

Food aversions: Gah Almost everything.. (see the morning sickness section) Broccoli has been the only thing that I’ve absolutely had to tell jason, “get that crap away from me!” And I’m normally a fan of broccoli.

Symptoms: Heartburn! I’ve been eating tums like candy. Cramps, nausea, fatigue, crazy crazy dreams, sore breasts (this one SUCKS), and dizziness.

Morning Sickness: Holy crap this one has been a doozy. I have been so miserably ill the past week. Starting last thursday I was throwing up immediately after I ate, in the middle of the night, and when I was hungry. I threw up so much that by friday evening I was throwing up blood because I tore my esophagus. By saturday night I had to go to the ER for dehydration and they gave me an IV and a prescription for and anti-nausea medicine. The medicine doesn’t keep me from getting nauseous though, instead I feel terrible and I CAN’T throw up, even though I feel like I’d feel better if I did throw up. Then this morning I threw up IN BED. I was simple turning over to turn off my alarm clock and I threw up on my pillow and the sheets and all over myself. ugh. it was terrible. I’m counting down the days for the first tri to be over, promising myself that this will be over soon.

Movement: Not yet, just cramping.

Gender: Jason and I both have a strong feeling that we’re having a girl. I would be completely happy with a boy or a girl though, obviously. I originally wanted to be surprised on the day of, but Jason wants to find out what were having, so we will. =)

What I’m looking forward to: Our first appointment is tuesday at 2:45. I can’t wait to hear the heartbeat and to ask my doctor the 500 questions I’ve been writing down.

What I miss: SUSHI. oh my gosh I’ve been dying for sushi.

Next appt: Tuesday, Nov 22nd, 2:45. The the 12 week NT scan is on December 16th.

I should probably mention that my Due Date according to my LMP is June 29th, 2012. =) If you base it off of my ovulation date though..its a little bit later (July 5th). I won’t know which date my OB will go by until she tells me. =)

Tell me what you think!

