Home » Uncategorized » Getting to know myself, part 1

Getting to know myself, part 1

A few weeks ago I read an article that started out:

“We hear this term “High Maintenance” quite frequently used as an adjective to describe women. Men say, “She was/is high maintenance.” What does it mean to you? Do you consider yourself HIGH Maintenance? Do you think being HIGH maintenance is wrong?”

I dismissed it without an answer, but as I was getting dressed to go eat with our neighbors today and as I was putting on makeup I stopped and just looked at myself in the mirror. I was in the middle of applying mascara, something I never leave the house without, and I paused. I looked around at the bathroom, taken over mostly my MY things, and I asked myself:

“Am I high maintenance?”

So I walked to the living room and sat on the arm of the couch and asked Jason.

“Uh…I don’t know.” Was all he could say, so I asked if he knew what I meant and he said not really.

So I thought I’d ask the Internet. What does it mean to be high maintenance?

I the past, I’ve thought of a high maintenance woman as one that needs a lot of time and attention, someone who spends way too much money on material things, and someone that…well..basically is a bitch.

Now, I have no problem admitting that I can be a real bitch. But I don’t spend a lot of money on clothes and shoes and such.

Copying from that same article, The author wrote, “High Maintenance to me isn’t a financial issue, exclusively or about a woman being demanding. Although being high maintenance requires the means by which a woman’s needs, wants, desires and pleasures can be given to her. There should be perks for “staying the course.” Many [women] have stayed the course and can enjoy the perks that come with working hard and smart. I do not particularly like when the phrase “high maintenance” is used for a person. I think it works perfectly well for certain vehicles, and other things such as hardwood floors, 100% linen and silk outfits, or even a long and thick mane of hair. It works for things that require more attention than their alternatives, perhaps?”

The woman who wrote the article went on to explore a few different opinions of different aged men. And it seems, to the older gentlemen, that the classic woman was high maintenance. You know, big hair, beautiful clothes, marilyn-esc women.

Think Rose from Titanic. Now SHE was high maintenance.

So this man, whom the writer of the article calls George, says, “High Maintenance includes many things. She selects a restaurant because of she’s heard VIPs go there not because of great food and service. Another High Maintenance definition is she’s very demanding with little consideration of what the guy enjoys so the time together becomes high maintenance (wasted). The rental car must be impressive and so many other things.”

Now by that definition I’m not high maintenance at all…But by the 26 year old Michael’s definition I think I definitely am.

“High maintenance women, from my personal definition means:

1. Needs lots of time

2. Needs lots of effort

3. Are very fussy and particular

4. Are difficult and troublesome

5. Are annoying

6. Have high expectations of her partner or date

7. Will be quick to reject a person if those expectations are not met

8. Hard to please, not easily impressed

9. Takes forever to get ready

10. Something all but the most patient and tolerant men should avoid like the plague.”

Dang Michael, what a jerk! I’m just going to number them and add my reply.

1) I don’t think I really need a lot of time. I set me alarm clock for an hour and fifteen minutes before I leave my house..and in that time I shower, dress, do my hair and makeup, eat, and take care of my pets. But a full hour of that IS devoted to showering and primping. So…
2) I put a lot of effort into the way I do things..but here I think Michael is being a little vague. I need effort from other people? Or I need effort from myself? And Effort doing what exactly?
3) Ok this one I can’t argue with. I am fuss, and I’m very particular, but I consider that a good thing. And Ladies, I don’t think a single one of you could deny being picky.
4) I’m not difficult and troublesome.
5) I hope I’m not annoying!!
6) I don’t have high expectations of my partner. I have standards, but they aren’t incredibly high ones, and Jason meets them all very well. I don’t consider expecting him to put the seat of the toilet down a high expectation, but maybe Michael does.
7) See number 6
8) Ha ha I laughed out loud at this one..because I’m incredibly easy to impress.
9) See the first one
10) I don’t think that a patient or tolerant man should avoid me! Jason is VERY patient and tolerant. And we go very well together.

I’m really rather irritated with this Michael person. I think he has a lot of growing up and maturing to do, and he needs to reevaluate his list. Number 10 basically makes it sound like I’m only allowed to date douche bags if I’m high maintenance. But Am I?

From the article:

“High maintenance here in Australia is really the term used to describe women being highly groomed which includes nail polish, good make up, classical/business clothes, etc. on a daily basis.”
—Jeni

“Funny, I thought getting your nails done and your hair done and looking nice and acting appropriately was just part of being a woman/girl. Since when did the maintaining the aspects of our sex become high maintenance?”
—Cheryl

And finally, a 50 year old, whom I’ll call Sharon, made this contribution to the question.

1. If your purse holds more than 5 lbs of ESSENTIALS . . .

2. If you own more than 50 pairs of shoes . . .

3. If your make-up case is a double-decker toolbox from Sears . . .

4. If a small family could live in your closet . . .

5. If more than 3 items in your closet still have price tags . . .

6. If your jewelry box used to be a high-boy chest . . .

7. If you have more underwear than you can wear in 3 months . . .

8. If a weekend trip takes more than 1 piece of luggage . . .

9. If you spend more on hair products than groceries . . .

10. If your dry-cleaning bill is more than your car payment . . .

11. If you have a weekly Botox appointment . . .

12. If you’re still making payments on your last plastic surgery . . . “

This list made me laugh hard..but I am guilty of ONE of the things on the list. Number 5.

So am I high maintenance. I think that in a lot of ways I am, and in a lot of ways I’m not. But I still have no idea. And this blog didn’t help at all…. Haha

Ladies, Are YOU high maintenance?

If you’d like to take a look at the article, here it is! http://www.divinecaroline.com/22267/29805–high-maintenance-really-mean

Tell me what you think!

