Home » Uncategorized » I’m nobody. Who are you? Are you nobody to?

I’m nobody. Who are you? Are you nobody to?

I’m nobody! Who are you?
Are you nobody, too?
Then there’s a pair of us — don’t tell!
They’d banish us, you know.

How dreary to be somebody!
How public, like a frog
To tell your name the livelong day
To an admiring bog!

(Emily Dickenson)

I’m watching Law and Order SVU, and in the episode, one of the characters keeps quoting the first two lines of that poem.

I keep getting told -in regards to my engagement- that I’m way too young to get married. Someone said to me, “You’ll be a completely different person in 5 years. You wont even recognize who you are now.”

That’s really stuck with me. Mainly because I think it’s bullshit. 5 years ago, I was the same person I am now. Now completely, but when you get down to the CORE of who I am, I’m basically the same. Yes, some preferences have changed, and I’ve matured a lot, but other than one drastic thing that happened about 4 years ago that changed me, I still have the same personality.

I think we’re all born with unlimited potential to develop into whatever our experiences make us. A blank canvas, if you will. Yes, we all have an inert nature that guides our basic decisions when were young and we’re still in the business of self preservation. But I believe that every small experience molds us into who we are. And I believe that when we’re very young, those basic choices of likes and dislikes stick with us, and that we quickly develop a personality at a VERY young state, possibly even while still in the womb.

I’m still the same person I was 5 years ago. I’m really still the same person I was 15 years ago.

So no, I’m not nobody. Neither are you. Who are you?

I’m Alicia.

My favorite colors have always been Green then Orange

My favorite show is Law and Order SVU. It has been my favorite for over 8 years.

I love to read

I talk a LOT and I never meet a stranger

I’m accident proned

I’m extremely fickle

I’m really a shy person, but oddly, you wouldn’t know it until you really got to know me.

I’m a social butterfly. I absolutely love being around people.

I dream to live in France, write young adult novels, and raise a family.

I believe Greed is the worst sin

I believe hope is the most important thing in the world

I believe in a balance in the world, for every death, a birth, and for every sin, a good deed.

I listen to an incredible amount of music

I love to write with pens that put down a lot of ink. I’ve never received a pen as a gift, but I would love for someone to give me a fountain pen.

Sunflowers have always been my favorite flower

(You should refer back to my 101 things about me blog from april.)

2 thoughts on “I’m nobody. Who are you? Are you nobody to?

  1. I have only been around you and Jason a few times, but I can clearly see that you are perfect for each other. I don’t think I’ve ever met any two people like you all. I could tell in the 1st five minutes that I was around you all, that you are destined to be together.

    CONGRATULATIONS!

  2. I have to say that I agree with you Alicia. I hate to hear people say that some couples marry too young. What does it matter? Maybe they did, but that’s not the reason they may divorce later. It’s a maturity thing, not an age thing. And not all young people are immature and can’t handle marriage. I know quite a few mature young people and a lot of immature adults. I will say I have noticed changes in myself that have occurred in the past few years. But it’s stuff like making smarter decisions and realizing how important it is to save money instead of wasting it, not what I want from my husband. Those characteristics have always been the same, and I don’t see how they could change. Before I met Steven, I looked for someone who was fun, caring, and loved me for me (just to name a few, ha ha). So if I had waited 5-10 years then I would want someone who was a boring jerk that tried to change me? No, that’s ridiculous! My point? Don’t ever let anyone make decisions for you. Only you and Jason know if the two of you are ready for marriage.

Tell me what you think!

